Support for Atlassian Server Products (and apps like BigPicture) is has ended in February 2024.

Are you planning a migration to Cloud? Make sure you don't lose your BigPicture data/configurations in the process. Check out this page for information on how to migrate BigPicture's data to Cloud. If you have any questions please email support@appfire.com

BigPicture 8.9.0 Release Notes

CategoryFeature descriptionSneak peek
Risks module

The "Manage fields" splash screen leads you directly to the configuration of the Risks module mapping.  

The Risks module works based on field mapping. If the mapping is incomplete, you get a splash screen prompting you to finish the configuration. Then, based on the mapping, the risks can be visualized in a form of a risk matrix in the Risks module. 

Scope module

"Move to the top" and "Move to the bottom" introduced

You can easily move the item to the top or to the bottom of a given level of the WBS. 

Note: the indent/outdent level isn't affected. The task remains nested on the same level of hierarchy.

Import 

The extension of the uploaded file can be in upper or lower case (i.e. both .CSV and .csv. will work). 

The following file types are supported:

  • .mpp,
  • .mpx,
  • .xls,
  • .xlsx,
  • .ods,
  • .csv 

Export

Exporting to Excel in Resources module - file contains tasks with workload

Files exported to Excel (from the Resources module) contain Workload, Capacity and Remaining capacity for each Resource (or Skill) on a given day.

In addition, there is information about tasks assigned to Resources and their duration, workload contour in a given day.

Export in the Risks module

Once triggered, export is happening in the background. You can switch to a different screen without disrupting the process. 


Export on the Gantt module includes the Resources Panel

If you open the Resources panel and then export to a PDF image, the Resources panel will be included in the export:

  • export can be limited horizontally as a specific period
  • the export contains all the tasks and resources
  • tasks and resources may be limited by filters and quick filters

Clear permission cache

You can refresh the profile cache without contacting the admin

If changes in Jira groups or permissions were made, you don't have to wait for the app cache to refresh. You can clear the permissions cache without slowing down the app. 

Cache cleared:

  • roles in boxes, to which the user is assigned 
  • user roles
  • permissions to boxes
  • user info cache
  • cache with cloud permissions info
  • groups cache

Live SyncLive sync is available on the Resources module - see changes in data without the need to refresh a page.  

Widgets configuration

Search the projects list

You can more easily locate the Jira projects to activate/deactivate widgets. 

Task structure 

"Parent" structure builder - Jira Cloud only 

For Jira Cloud, the 'Jira Advanced roadmaps' structure builder has been replaced with the Parent structure builder.

Atlassian introduced a unification of fields responsible for some parent-child relations (Epic link, sub-task, Jira (Advanced) Roadmaps). Parent Link is now handled by the same field (Parent). 

image-2022-11-15-13-57-49-146.png

FiltersTask grouping - task grouping can be deactivated using the button. 

Hide parent boxes 

When using filters, you can hide the greyed-out higher-level elements.

Dependencies 

When dependencies are collapsed, clicking the dependency counter "dot" triggers a pop-up containing a list of dependencies. 

Out-of-view tasks are displayed in the infobar.  

The Dependencies tab (in the infobar) contains information on all task dependencies:

  • dependencies between tasks in the scope of a current box
  • dependencies between tasks in a current box and other boxes (indicated by the "out-of-view" icon)

A task may be out-of-view because:

  • The other task is in a different box. As a result, dependency cannot be visualized.
  • A task is hidden because of active filters (dependency will be visualized once filers are deactivated)  

In the "dependency details" pop-up, the "task source" field can be edited. 

Board module - when dependencies are collapsed (arrows are not visible), dependencies related to a task are shown as arrows:

  • after clicking on a task card, 
  • after clicking on a dependency counter dot.

Board module - colors indicate the "health status" of the task dependencies.

  • red - target task in a previous timebox
  • amber - target task in the same timebox
  • green - target task in the future timebox 

ASAP dependencies are highlighted as "broken" when the start/end dates of tasks don't match the dependency specifications (dependency cannot be fulfilled). 

Milestones 

Create a basic task as a milestone

You can add milestones directly from the Gantt module using the "+ Task" button.

  1. Click the (plus icon) > Create task Basic task
  2. Activate the "Create as a milestone" toggle
  3. Fill in the task details
  4. Create

Task details

Task details pop-up contains status information


Undo button

Undo button can be used in the live scenario

Undo button becomes available after a user made changes.

Undo the following actions:

  • Resizing the task on Gantt
  • Moving the task on Gantt

Shortcut: ctrl/cmd + z

Important: Only single action can be undone.

The Undo button is grayed out by default. It becomes available when the user performs an operation that can be undone. Performing an undo operation OR reloading the page makes the Undo button grayed out again.

After pressing the Undo button, the application displays a screen asking the user if he wants to undo the change (Confirm or Cancel). This screen shows the name of the operation, the task ID, and the date and time of the operation to be undone.