Support for Atlassian Server Products (and apps like BigPicture) is ending in February 2024.

Are you planning a migration to Cloud? Make sure you don't lose your BigPicture data/configurations in the process. Check out this page for information on how to migrate BigPicture's data to Cloud. If you have any questions please email support@appfire.com

Scenario mode

 

 

To find the optimal version of your plan, you have to consider multiple factors, such as risks and delays, as well as pay close attention to the availability and workload of your resources.

With the Scenarios feature, you can easily try out different variants of your plan, compare the results, and find the best one.

Plan work with scenarios

You can create two scenarios per Box:

  • One public scenario

  • One private scenario

Note: BigPicture Enterprise allows you to have an unlimited number of scenarios. 

Create

  1. Click the scenario drop-down at the top

  2. Select Create new scenario

  3. Provide:

    1. scenario name

    2. select color

    3. adjust scenario visibility (toggle switch private/public)

  4. Click Create

Edit details

Change the scenario name, color and public/private settings.

Adjust visibility

Method 1

Go to edit details and adjust the toggle switch (see above).

Method 2

Adjust directly in the scenario dropdown by clicking on the eye icon

Delete scenario

This action can't be reversed.

Switch between scenarios

Use the scenario drop-down at the top to switch between different scenarios and the live version.

Note:

Private scenarios are visible only to the person who created them. Make a scenario public to share it with other users.

Scenario history

The scenario history lets you track changes. Click on the change counter at the top-right corner of the scenario box to see the list.

Changes supported by the scenario mode

Change

Gantt module

Resources module

Change

Gantt module

Resources module

Start date

Updates made in Task details or "drag and drop" action on the timeline + Resizing.

End date

Updates made in Task details or "drag and drop" on the timeline + Resizing.

Scheduling mode

Updates made in task details pop-up.

Original Estimate, Remaining Estimate, Story Points

Updates made in task details pop-up.

Contouring mode, Workload contour

Updates made in task details pop-up.

Summary

Updates made in task details pop-up.

Merge to live

Changes are synchronized with Jira or connected tools, such as Trello.

Method 1

Click merge to live at the top

Method 2

Select merge to live from the scenario drop-down

Method 3

Click Merge to live in the Scenario history pop-up.

Affects

Undo

If you have two tabs open (in one tab, Gantt is in the "Live" mode and, in another one, in the "Scenario" mode), the undo option is not available. 

Disabled options

When scenario mode is activated, some actions are disabled in a right-click menu, and a tooltip appears as below:

Change history

Changes made in scenario mode are not logged until a scenario is merged into the live version.