Support for Atlassian Server Products (and apps like BigPicture) is has ended in February 2024.

Are you planning a migration to Cloud? Make sure you don't lose your BigPicture data/configurations in the process. Check out this page for information on how to migrate BigPicture's data to Cloud. If you have any questions please email support@appfire.com

Field mapping

For boxes based on a single Jira project, field mapping can be easily changed:

  • From a level of an individual box.

  • Directly from a box context and a Jira project context.

image2022-6-22_10-59-31.png
image-2023-3-21_10-19-40.png

 

Synchronization of BigPicture values with a task source

Short explanation → Values stored in a connected integration (such as Jira) can be synchronized with BigPicture. 

Example → Jira field 'Original Estimate' synchronized with BigPicture 'end date.' 

Values that aren't being synchronized are stored exclusively in the BigPicture database. 

Read more about field mapping.

Conditions

The scope definition of a box must be simple - limited to a single Jira project. 

Who can edit field mapping?

To change the field mapping, you must have sufficient permissions in BigPicture and Jira.

Acceptable BigPicture permissions:

  • Box Admin

  • App Admin

  • App resource admin 

Acceptable Jira permissions: 

  • Jira project admin

  • Jira admin

How to access the field sync configuration?

From a box context

  1. Click on the wrench icon at the top right.

  2. Select Field sync configuration from the list.

From a Jira project context

Go to a Jira project:

  1. On the left, select the BigPicture widget.

  2. Click on the wrench icon at the top right.

  3. Select Field sync configuration from the list.

Field sync configuration

Current setup info

In the pop-up, you can see the current field mapping of a project:

At the top, you can see info regarding the current setup. The message lets you know if a custom configuration (custom mapping) exists for a project.

If a project uses the default configuration settings, it means a custom configuration doesn't exist for a project yet. The project is using the default mapping. 

If a project uses the custom configuration settings, it means a separate, independent mapping exists. 

Make changes

When you modify the mapping and save changes:

  • The custom configuration is created, OR

  • The existing custom configuration is updated.

Restore default settings

You can always remove the custom configuration and return to the default configuration.

The default configuration can be accessed and modified by an App Admin in the App Configuration > General > Fields section.