Support for Atlassian Server Products is ending in February 2024. Consider migrating to Polls for Confluence’s Data Center version.
Or, are you planning to migrate to Cloud? Make sure you do not lose your data/configurations in the process. Check out the Migration guide for information on how to migrate the app’s data to Cloud. Contact our support team if you have any questions.
This article describes the functions and the efficient way to create and manage polls. Primarily, this page contains information for administrators on how they can create, perform actions on polls and other settings. The differences between the server and cloud versions are specifically mentioned wherever applicable.
Both administrators and users can create polls, perform actions like edit, copy, delete and so on. Administrators can see all the available polls but users can see only those polls that they createdor the ones shared with them. On the same note, regardless of user type, only those users can vote for polls that were shared with them.
Administrators as well as other users can create, update and delete polls. Note that, though administrators can view polls created by other users, users can see polls only if those are shared with them.
This tab has options that are applicable to all polls throughout the space.
Allow anonymous polls only
Enable this option to force new polls to have anonymous voting (disabled by default). When enabled, all new polls are anonymous and existing polls are not affected.
Help us improve the product
Enable this option to report usage data that helps us improve the app continually. The app does not send any private user data or personally identifiable information.
The Vote anonymouslyparameter (shows in Create … poll) depends on the Allow anonymous polls only setting.
IfAllow anonymous polls onlyis enabled, on creating a new poll, Vote anonymously is checked and cannot be disabled as shown in the image below.
This tab contains settings to perform various actions on the polls created by the administrators or other users.
You can find information like the poll creation date, poll creator, number of voters, poll status and actions for that poll.
Select Author to go to that user’s profile.
Click the poll to view the current status of the poll.
Clicking the number of votes shows the voter names.
Participants shows the total number of voters for the poll.
Status shows the current status of the poll: Open for voting or Closed. Based on the status, you can Reopen or Close the poll.
Click any of the other options displayed to perform a specific action. For more information on these, read How to work with polls article.
Cloud app configuration
To access the app configuration, click Settings > Polls Administration in the left sidebar.
You can see the list of existing polls created by or shared with the logged in user. As an administrator, you can see all the polls existing in the Confluence instance on this screen.
Close the poll. This ensures that no more votes can be casted for the poll. A bar chart is displayed with the results of the poll.
Edit the poll. You can make changes to your poll configuration and click Save Poll to continue. Read the How to work with polls article to know more about the parameters.
Share the poll with other users. For other users to vote for the poll, you must share the poll link with them.
Reset the poll. This removes all existing votes and thus, restart the poll.
Copy the poll. You can create a copy of the poll to serve as a template for a new poll. The votes made for the original poll are not copied to the new one.
View the poll report. The report is a bar chart indicating the poll statistics such as number votes per option, total number of votes, names of voters unless Vote anonymously is enabled, and so on. You can also restrict who can view this report using the Report viewers and Report viewer groups poll parameters. The icon is disabled for restricted users. This report also shows the users who can vote, have yet to vote, and who have already voted for the poll under the Pending Voters section.
Delete the poll. This removes the poll in its entirety. Information about this poll is not retained after this action is done. This action is permanent.