Multi-team planning in Resources

Meet the new BigPicture navigation

A faster, smarter, and more intuitive way to work is here. We’ve redesigned BigPicture navigation to give you a smoother experience and better access to what matters most.

→ Discover what’s new, explore key improvements, and review feature name updates on the New navigation page.

→ The rollout will happen gradually, and the previous navigation will be retired in December 2026.

Multi-team planning in Resources

Multi-team planning in the Resources module

With the multi-team planning in Resources, you can analyze team capacity, detect unused capacity, and balance workloads.

See the video to learn more.

Select the Multi-team planning swimlane from the View drop-down.

Screenshot of the Multi-team planning feature in the Resources module.

Update team allocations

Once you identify workload imbalances, you can adjust the plan.

  1. Drag and drop a task to another team.

    Dragging and dropping a task to another team in the multi-team planning in Resources.
  2. Update teams and estimates.

    Screenshot of the multi-team planning window.
  3. To confirm, click Save. The task is now visible in both swimlanes.

    Screenshot of a task that is assigned to two teams in the Resources module.

Move tasks from backlog

You can use the multi-team planning feature when dragging and dropping tasks from the Backlog panel.

  1. Open Backlog and find a task.

  2. Drag and drop the task to one team swimlane.

    Dragging and dropping a task from the Backlog to the team swimlane in Resources.
  3. Select teams and provide time estimates.

    Screenshot of completing the Plan task window.
  4. To confirm, click Save.

Multi-team planning vs. original estimates

  • In the Resources module, you can use either the multi-team planning feature or the Original estimate field.

  • If a task doesn't have a multi-team planning estimate, BigPicture automatically uses the value from the Original estimate field.

  • As soon as you add a multi-team planning estimate, it takes priority. The original estimate stays on the task, but it's no longer used in workload calculations.